I’m Just Here for the Food: El Pollo Inka

lomo saltado

Meh.

I guess I’ve been spoiled by Mario’s.

When I first discovered Peruvian food, I was all about the Chaufa de Mariscos (seafood fried rice) at El Pollo Inka. I thought it was pretty good, but it must not have been that good because, after I stopped working near an El Pollo Inka, I stopped getting Peruvian food.

About a year ago, I visited my first Peruvian restaurant in years: Mario’s Peruvian. It was there that I discovered Lomo Saltado: a sublime dish of savory beef, tomatoes, and vegetables served over hot, crispy fries. Upon rediscovering Peruvian, I just couldn’t get enough.

A few weeks ago, a friend invited me out for dinner, and we decided to get Peruvian. I was excited, and ready for my Lomo Saltado fix.

When I took the first bite, my disappointment was palpable. The Lomo Saltado at El Pollo Inka is nothing like the explosion of flavor that Mario’s version of the dish is. No wonder I’d lost my taste for Peruvian food by eating at El Pollo Inka: there’s no taste to be had here. The Lomo Saltado is just bland.

I suppose it wasn’t the worst food I’ve ever had, but, after Mario’s, it was a huge disappointment. Still, I guess it’s better than no Persian food at all. But I can tell you that I won’t be revisiting El Pollo Inka while there’s still a Mario’s within driving distance.

El Pollo Inka
1425 W. Artesia Boulevard, Suite 14
Gardena, CA 90248
(310) 516-7378
ElPolloInka.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

