What Came First, the Misery or the Music: Fingerprints Music

“Do we look like the kind of store that sells “I Just Called to Say I Love You”? Go to the mall.”
— Jack Black as Barry, High Fidelity

I’m no hipster.

I wish I had more indie cred. I enjoy indie movies, but I don’t know anything about indie music and, as all hipsters and aspiring hipsters know, music is the heartbeat of the indie scene.

Well, I recently had an amazing musical experience that might also have been my initiation into independence.

And of course it happened at Fingerprints.

Fingerprints is an independent record store. And when I say “record,” I mean “record” – they boast a fine collection of vinyl on top of an excellent stock of regular CDs (mostly for indie newbies like me). It’s a smallish place with a hippish vibe worthy of comparison to Championship Vinyl (if you’ve never seen High Fidelity, go and rent it. IMMEDIATELY).

The owner may not be as hot as John Cusack (no offense, dude), but he could certainly go head-to-head with Rob Gordon in a “Top Five” challenge. He always has two fingers firmly on the pulse of the indie scene and he’s a master at keeping the store up-to-date and relevant.

But my favorite thing about Fingerprints has to be the in-stores.

Fingerprints will occasionally invite indie artists to play a show in their store. They’ll shut down for the night (or the afternoon, if the in-store is on a Sunday) and anyone who buys the artist’s CD (usually about $12-$13) gets free entry for himself and a friend.

Space is limited, so the shows are always intimate. And the artists are unlimited, so the shows are always amazing.

Sure, they’ve featured known artists like Ingrid Michaelson and, more recently, The Swell Season. But they’re also committed to supporting local indie artists. They know that this helps them as well as the artist. And it certainly doesn’t harm the fans who come to see the shows.

If you’re a budding hipster, then I’d highly recommend that you check out Fingerprints. Not only will they give you a quality indie education, but they’ll ease your transition to the road less traveled – and have you dancing down it to the beat of a different drummer.

Fingerprints Music
4612-B E 2nd St
Long Beach, CA 90803
(562) 433-4996
www.fingerprintsmusic.com

Leave a Reply

