Olive Yu: Chapter 6

This one was hard to write — not because I didn’t know what to write, but because the inspiration for this chapter was a compilation of actual events and I didn’t know if I wanted to be quite this honest about some parts of my past. It was hard to write humorously about something that was so hard for me when I went through it. And there’s also this fear that you, as a writer, won’t be able to accurately convey what it was like for you, as a person, and that your writing will either trivialize or glorify the experience.

But, in the end, the chapter kind of wrote itself and there was just no way I was going to just ditch 4,000 words.

Chapter Six. Please be particularly gentle with your criticisms on this one.

1 Comment »

  1. […] oymas, vacation, worst hair day ever, young adult, youth } Whew, now that <a href=”https://bookbloggyblogg.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/olive-yu-chapter-6/“>Chapter Six</a> is over with, I’m ready to have some […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

