Cannonball 18: Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues, Book #4) by Jude Watson

Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues, #4) Beyond the Grave by Jude Watson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Beyond the Grave takes the Cahill kids from Japan to Egypt. They’re searching for Clue #4 of 39 (and I can only feel a faint throbbing in protest when I think of the 35 books left to go in the series) with the aid of handsome grad student Theo Cotter and his grandmother, Hilary, who was a good friend of Grace Cahill (or was she??? POSSIBLY OBVIOUS SPOILER!!! I KNOW I SAW IT COMING!! Never trust hot guys or their grandmothers!! Let this be a lesson to us all! Thanks for the tip, Jude Watson!).

Now, whenever I think of Egypt, I automatically think of my sister.

My sister is a huge archaeology geek. People always go up to her to gush about how much they, too, love the pyramids and she freezes them with an icy glare until their either stammer apologies and back away slowly or simply fall silent and wither under her gaze.

Why, you ask? Because assuming that archaeology buffs love Egypt is like assuming that all bibliophiles love Twilight — sure, everybody knows about it, and maybe it’s even a good place to start in growing a love for reading, but the truth is that it’s beginner stuff and once you’ve had a taste of something a little more sophisticated, you kinda snicker into your hand when you hear someone say that they’re a fan of books because they love sparkly emo vampires.

And I can understand a little better why my sister kind of hates Egypt after reading this book. It not only is super-basic, but it also gets so much attention that far more interesting material is eclipsed (book title pun not intended) by it.

I will say that the book does teach you some interesting facts about Egypt, if you’re into that sort of thing (Philistines!). The one thing that the series does well and does so consistently is to use the adventure as a vehicle to teach kids a little history. It’s a very little bit of history, but it’s history nonetheless.

But, in the end, are those morsels of historical trivia worth wading through 192 pages of stilted dialog, saw-it-coming-a-mile-away “twists” and mind-numbingly dull plot contrivances?

I’m not going to say anything. I’m just going to freeze you with an icy glare until you see what I’m getting at. And then I’m going to recommend that you head to your local library and check out some books about the history of Persia.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

