I’m Just Here for the Food: Frontera Fresco

The first time I ever saw Rick Bayless on TV, I was watching a show he did on PBS about making huevos rancheros. He pronounced it “WAY-vos ran-CHAY-ros” (so… AMERICAN) and I immediately dismissed him as a hack.

The second time I ever saw Rick Bayless on TV, it was on “Top Chef Masters.” Despite my prior disdain for his Spanish pronunciation, he slowly won me over with his amazing cookery and innovative culinary ideas and commitment to authenticity.

rick bayless

My sister and I nicknamed Rick Bayless "cabron" (Spanish for goat, and an insult in Mexican culture) because of his beard. I still kinda think it's funny.

So when I heard that he was opening a fast-food version of the Frontera Grill (his flagship restaurant in Chicago) in San Francisco, I knew that I had to visit Frontera Fresco on my next trip.

frontera grill

Frontera Fresco, fresh and fast.

I took into account that this was supposed to be fast food, and I was completely satisfied with my experience. The food was totally affordable, and I really enjoyed the cochinita pibil tacos. My sister had the grilled steak huarache, which was not as good as the tacos were (the flatbread was a little… meh. Just dry and tough and kinda flavorless).

On the whole, though, I was pretty satisfied with my experience. I definitely plan to go again the next time I’m in SF. Rick Bayless is THE MAN.

Frontera Fresco
170 O’Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 296-4349
www.fronterafresco.com

2 Comments »

  1. lainiefig Said:

    I really love Rick Bayless and his cookbooks. He has a special place in my heart because he talks a lot about Oaxaca, where I once spent 3 weeks taking a Spanish class and staying with a local family. My then-boyfriend was also there in another class with his dad, and Rick Bayless also happens to remind me of that boyfriend, my first love. I don’t know if he just looks a teensy bit like him or if it’s the way he talks, or what, but he reminds me of him. He really reminds me of him in that picture up there–the cocky smile and the goatee, I guess.

    OK, that was just a random ramble for ya, jelinasis.

    • I love your rambles, LainieSis!! I didn’t know you spent time in Oaxaca!! That is SO super-cool; I totally envy you the experience. And that’s a sweet story about your first love, too. 🙂

      Thanks for that quick constitutional down Memory Lane. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

