I’m Just Here for the Food: Saladang Song

saladang song

If looks are your thing, you're in luck.

I’ve only been here twice, and, both times, I was with a large group of people.

On my most recent visit, it was for a wedding rehearsal dinner. The bride- and groom-to-be ordered a bunch of dishes for everyone to share: pad thai, pad see ew, beef salad , yellow curry, and Thai fried rice.

I have no complaints about the food; everything was absolutely delicious. And the outside patio is beautiful — the restaurant, designed by Peter Tolkin Architecture, was a finalist for a James Beard restaurant design award.

My only big objection to the place is that it’s so ridiculously expensive. I understand that sometimes, you have to pay for ambiance, but the food just isn’t spectacular enough to merit the cost. I’d be satisfied with a crappier restaurant design and better food.

If you really want to impress someone with aesthetics, then Saladang Song is the place to go. But if you want to impress them with food, look elsewhere.

Saladang Song
383 S Fair Oaks Ave
Pasadena, CA 91105
(626) 793-5200
SaladangSong.com

Leave a Reply

