A Hot Bowl of Italy: Zuppa Toscana

I originally intended the I’m Just Here for the Food feature to include reviews and recipes, but it’s been an entire year and I haven’t posted a single recipe. Well, that changes today.

Now that the weather’s getting chillier (which, in SoCal, means it was 60°F today), I’m in the mood for a nice, hot bowl of soup almost every day. Mmm, soup.

Zuppa Toscana is one of my favorite soups. Whenever I get unlimited soup, salad, and breadsticks at the Olive Garden, I can never bring myself to order any soup but the Toscana. This creamy soup is easy to make at home, and maybe even better because you can make it as hearty as you like!

Start by chopping up an onion.

Onion!!

First, lengthwise, then crosswise.

Then, crush yourself up some garlic.

Garlic!!

Place your knife over the garlic clove, and then... HULK SMASH!!! Then peel off the skin... TADA!! Crushed and peeled garlic.

Then, put your cubed potatoes, onions, and garlic in a stockpot.

In the pot!!

You heard me!! DO IT!!!

Then brown up some Italian sausage and chopped bacon. MEAT, YAY!!!

MEEEEAAAAAAT!!!

Mmm, bacon. And sausage.

Now, let’s turn this soup into a soup!

BOIL, my pretty!!

Add broth, bacon, and sausage, and boil until potatoes are soft. Add cream and kale.

Add the cream and kale after the potatoes are soft, and heat through.

Mmm, soupy!!

Finish off with some grated parmesan and some freshly-ground pepper.

It’s creamy. It’s savory. It’s hearty. It’s the ultimate soup.

Zuppa Toscana

1 lb. sausage
1 lb. bacon, chopped
1 qt. water
2 14.5 oz. cans chicken broth
2 russet potatoes, scrubbed clean and cubed
2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
1 medium onion, peeled and chopped
2 cups chopped kale
1 cup heavy cream
Parmesan cheese and pepper to taste

Brown sausage over medium-high heat, breaking it into small pieces as it cooks. Brown bacon, too. Set aside.

Place water, broth, potatoes, garlic and onion in a pot and simmer until potatoes are soft.

Add sausage and bacon and cook for another ten minutes.

Add kale and cream; heat through.

Before serving, garnish with Parmesan cheese and freshly-ground pepper. You can add salt if you like, but I find that the bacon makes this soup salty enough.

Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. Tes Said:

    I just love your pictures tutorial. This dish sounds flavourful and delicious!
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jenna Said:

    Looks amazing! The few times I’ve eaten at Olive Garden, I also always get this soup! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I need to make this next time I’m at my in-laws’ house, because they adore Olive Garden. I’m sure this recipe would be a huge hit.

    • Thanks, Jenna!!! Yeah, I SUPER-love this soup!! I know you’ll love it, too!! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

